The Traitor Legion
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Beginning fantasy with High Elves

4 posters

Go down

Beginning fantasy with High Elves Empty Beginning fantasy with High Elves

Post by Leviticus Thu Mar 25, 2010 3:25 am

Hey all, most of you may not know me. My name's matt, I've been playing warhammer 40k for a couple of years and have decided to give fantasy a shot.

I've decided to pick up high elves because, to be honest, the models look wicked cool. I'm really into swords and sorcery, and it looks like high elves do really well at both! I picked up the codex today (wednesday) and have been skimming through it and nagging chris mercilessly about certain rules that may differ between fantasy and 40k.

Though I don't know much, I think I understand enough of the game to start producing my first couple of lists, and here's where I stumble on my world of problems- how important is resilience? What is considered "Resilient" in this game? High elves have a SUPER DOODOO armor save as compared to 40k (I play space marines, 3+ is standard to me) since my elves seem to boast a 5+ O.-

Also, what do you guys do with your special characters to keep them from getting sniped? Do they get sniped often? Is it a concern I need not deal with?

I've decided to go with a magic heavy army list, as I feel it'll be crucial to countering certain competitive armies, and here's what I've got down so far-

Lord- 475
Teclis

Heroes-505
Mage (Lv. 2, Seerstaff, Jewel of Dusk)-160
Mage (Lv. 2, Silver Wand, Annulian Crystal)-185
BSB (Banner of Sorcery)- 160

Core-320
Archers (16 elves strong)-176
Spearmen (16 elves strong)-144

Special-

Rare- 200
Repeater Crossbow
Repeater Crossbow

Some numbercrunching I did concerning the magic phase.

On average, I'll produce the following-

Pool- 4 power dice (2 base, 2 from standard on average)
Teclis- 4 power dice on average
Mage 1- 3 power dice
Mage 2- 2 power dice